Barnard-Columbia International Socialist Organization

March 3, 2010

Thurs 3/4: NYC Rally and March to Defend Public Education

Filed under: ISO Events, Solidarity — Barnard-Columbia ISO @ 1:45 am

National Day of Action to Defend Education!

Thursday, March 4th

Endless Budget Cuts and Tuition Hikes. 19 NYC public schools closing. Free student Metrocards being phased out alongside train lines and booth employees. Segregation in schools. NYPD jailing 12-year olds. Massive student debt. Less financial aid. Teachers’ Unions under attack… Education is in CRISIS.

TIME TO SAY ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! SAVE OUR SCHOOLS!

NYC-wide day of action:

Rally at 4 pm at Gov. Paterson’s office (633 Third Ave. @ 41st St.),

Then March to MTA Hearings at Fashion Institute of Technology (7th Ave. @ 27th St.)

Socialist Worker coverage:

SocialistWorker.org is planning to blog live throughout the day with reports from the protests taking place in California and around the country during the March 4 Day of Action. You can go to the SocialistWorker.org home page (http://SocialistWorker.org) to follow our coverage.

We’re also hoping to broadcast a live video stream of the regional rally in San Francisco, beginning at 5 p.m. (PST, 8 p.m. EST and 7 p.m. CST). (Please note that we’ve never done this before, and technical difficulties are certainly possible. Wish us luck!)

Articles from socialistworker.org:

Why We’re Protesting, Part I

Why We’re Protesting, Part II

Why won’t they tax Wall Street?
A Revolt Against NYC School Closures
States of Emergency

Village Voice:
NYPD arresting grade schoolers
Segregated Upper East Side school

NYC March 4th website: http://march4ny.wordpress.com/
Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/groups.php#/group.php?gid=244000051960

Email: March4NY@gmail.com
National website: www.defendeducation.org

Advertisements

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: